Board of Directors
Maria Gyure, MS, CGC
CTGCA President
Licensed Certified Genetic Counselor
Program Director
University of Connecticut
Institute for Systems Genomics
Kunal Sanghavi, MS, CGC
CTGCA President-elect
Sr. Program Manager, Genetic Counseling
The Jackson Laboratory for Genomic Medicine
Linda Steinmark, MS, CGC
CTGCA Treasurer
Project Manager
Clinical & Continuing Education
The Jackson Laboratory
Licensed Genetic Counselor
Hartford Healthcare Cancer Institute
Kara Young, MS, CGC
CTGCA Secretary
Nobelpharma America
Medical Science Liaison
Karina L. Brierley, MS, CGC
CTGCA Director
Licensed Certified Genetic Counselor
Smilow Cancer Genetics and Prevention Program
Genetic Counselor, Smilow Cancer Genetics and Prevention Program
John Neary, MS, CGC
CTGCA Director
Cancer Genetics Program Manager
Hartford HealthCare
A special thanks to Bev Tenenholz

Membership and Education Committee

  • Onboarding new members
  • Managing all educational events
  • Maintaining awareness of regional and state-wide educational conferences
Alexandra McClellan, MS, CGC*
Elizabeth Charnysh, MS, CGC
Kira Dineen, MS, LCGC, CG(ASCP)CM
Brittany Gancarz, MS, CGC
Connor Linehan, MS, CGC
Alyx Vogel, MS, CGC
Samantha Wesoly, MS, CGC
Kara G. Young, MS, CGC
*2023 Annual Conference Chairperson
Join subcommittee

Nominating Committee

  • Identifying candidates for positions on the board
Karina Brierley, MS, CGC
Alexandra McClellen, MS, CGC
Join subcommittee

Outreach Committee

  • Foster collaboration with stakeholders to improve genetic counseling services in Connecticut
  • Stewardship of CTGCA's web presence
  • Provide peer support and facilitate communication among Connecticut genetic counselors to enhance professional growth and visibility in Connecticut
Looking for subcommittee members
Join subcommittee